HP 7.2 Immediate Thoughts

Oh dear. They’ve managed to ruin another of the HP films. However, considering the previous five films, it’s almost to be expected. That is why I never fully let myself get excited or hopeful for the final movie in the Warner Bros. film franchise. As you can see, I have a somewhat biased opinion. So I will leave the actual reviewing of the film to my good friend Anne.

I would like to say a few things though. I got special edition HP 3D glasses. They managed to nail the insignificant parts whilst ruining the most important moments. In some parts of the film, I was to be found in hysterics, whether from laughter or something else. Ralph Fiennes should have read the series a bit closer – he needs to stop making funny noises and having bromances with all his Death Eaters. That awful man who shall not be named who wrote the screenplay needs to die. Voldemort did not kill Harry. The screenwriter did. Him and Warner Bros. I was just asked by my dad whether I was sad it was over. As I said before, it was over back in 2007. But if we’re talking solely about the movies, then yes, I am glad it’s over because it means I don’t have to watch another piece of my soul and childhood being destroyed in a mockery of the neo-classic children’s book series.

I shall now let you watch the movie in peace. And then you should really comment below with your thoughts.

And now I will end this post in order to fix my headache and get some sleep. Adieu.

C.

About legitimens

If I were an animagus, I would turn into a Charizard.

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Movie News. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I just saw it, and I think you’re wrong. They didn’t ruin the last movie at all. I do kind of agree about Voldermort’s performance being a bit off, but other than that the movie was fantastic. They did the ending true to how the book did it, and knowing hollywood I was expecting them to dumb it down a little. The few little things they did change really had no impact on the story as a whole. There was also lots of great scenes that could be super intense, or really sad (like when the Weasley’s mourned over Fred).

    • No, I think that they did ruin the ending. We never really find out about the Dumbledores and Grindelwald like we do in the book. Harry breaks the Elder Wand (and now Warner Bros. has screwed itself over if JKR writes another book that depends on the Elder Wand being won and taken from Harry) and never fixes his old wand before he does it so now he’s wandless. Stupid Harry. The number of basilisk fangs in the trio’s custody seems to waver during the course of the ending. Neville loses his moment of glory as it is pushed into a much larger and less important battle scene. Harry and Voldemort go wrestling as they fly around the castle (it was at this point that Anne and I (as well as our other friends) were in hysterics). Harry never explains to Voldemort (or really to anybody in much detail) why he was able to overcome him. Ron and Hermione just wave him off to die. Snape dies in a freaking boathouse. Hogwarts doesn’t have a boathouse. It does however have an underground harbour where the first year boats linger. Bellatrix and Voldemort die like balloons popping in slow motion. Fred’s death was way underplayed. Percy was not there. Crabbe was replaced by Zabini (okay that point is less important). Harry just jumps up after his observed death instead of sneakily sneaking away. He does not just appear in the Great Hall under Snape’s nose and let his aurors in through the front doors, simply saying “Oh, you have a security problem that is quite expansive”. They also minimized Snape and McGonagall’s death scene (which was one of my favourite battle scenes in the whole series). So the whole thing fell quite short for me.

      However, if you would like to submit a review (seeing as we don’t have one yet and all points of view are equally important), you are welcome to send one in to us at grantparksbestclub@gmail.com and we will put it up on the website as soon as we can.

  2. hedwig+hagrid

    Yeah I don’t think they ruined the movie. This movie was so awesome that it actually made me LIKE SNAPE, which none of the other movies have done. Yes, I cried during the movie, but I think you’d need to be heartless to see Lupin and Tonks and everyone else all laid out and not get at least a bit teary. Also, the snapexlily montage made me cry, but then again, I cry at anything in movies. Okay, it may not have been as true to the book as it could have, but really the people were trying to appeal to as broad an audience as they could, and a few things may have fallen by the wayside. However, I think that this movie was good enough that it may convince a non fa to at least pick up the first book an give it a go

    • Yes I think that’s the thing some people don’t understand about the movies. They are going to be different than the books just by the fact that they are in a different format. If the movie kept every single line play by play as the books. They would all be 10 or more hours long. Though I have never liked a HP movie nearly as much as the book version, I still think the movies are great in their own right.

      • I agree that the movies are going to be different from the books. It’s to be expected. But it’s really inadequate for the movies to downright change things in the books for no apparent reason when staying true to the books would have produced a much better film. And “running out of time” is not a valid excuse – this was the shortest movie of them all, and even despite that, they could have done so much more within the time limit by getting rid of some weird parts. And even if they had done the each part true to the book in this last movie, their style of filming and acting just doesn’t capture the same feeling and magic for me as the books do, which is really what the movies are all about; capturing the magic and gist of the books. They just made some bad choices.

  3. I actually read Chelsea’s comments after my review and I am delighted that all of our nitpickiness with the movie lies in the same areas. Even for a movie, there has to be standards, especially for a movie of this budget and caliber, relating to such a prominent part of pop culture and seven amazing books.

    There was potential. There was a lot of potential. But they just took their chance and tossed it away.

Leave a comment